66 Love Letters

by vanessafrank

Have you ever received a love letter that you’ve read over and over again, analyzing every word, carefully studying every punctuation and grammatical choice?

In contrast, have you ever stared down at your Bible with absolute boredom, barely able to keep your mind from drifting?

For many years I had great trouble engaging with the Bible. I rationalized that this must be because I’m a visual learner, because I’m not good at embracing abstract concepts, or because I’m not particularly academic.

But today I find myself completely captured by this book. So what changed?

Well, it seems to me that the importance that we attach to correspondence completely depends on the relationship we have with the author. We interpret their words through our perception of who they are, and through our relationship with them. Our level of intimacy with the author largely dictates our response to their words.

So for me what turned a dull text into a compelling one was a shift in my understanding of its author, and a revelation of my identity in relation to Him. That turned this previously grey text into vivid color. And now I read it over and over again, analyzing every word, carefully studying every punctuation and grammatical choice, like the love letter that it is.

***If you’d like to subscribe to my blog please scroll down to the bottom of the page and input your email into the “Email Subscription” section. Please note that you will be sent a confirmation email which you will need to respond to in order to activate your subscription. If such an email does not arrive in your inbox promptly after you sign up please check your spam box.***